Visit us on Facebook Directions and Hours
Stacking, in Build It!
Discovery, in Farm to Market

News

Nature and Science Activities at Wonder Works, A Childrens Museum In Oak Park, Schedule for Summer 2003

June 23, 2003 - This summer, the gang from Salt the Sandbox will present special nature and science activities in the Great Outdoors exhibit at Wonder Works, a Childrens Museum in Oak Park. Beginning June 21, activities will be held on most Wednesday and Saturday mornings from 10 a.m. to noon, with a separate theme for each week of the month.

Rock Hounds: 1st week of the month. Every family takes home a collection of small rocks and minerals that they find, clean and label.

Pond Dippers: 2nd week of the month. Hike around the Wonder Works pond to observe and capture plastic pond animals, see some live pond animals, and color, cut out and catch paper fish at the fishing pond.

Fossil Hunters: 3rd week of the month. Sort and play with toy dinosaurs, take home a collection of tiny fossils, help excavate some larger bones and learn about local fossils.

Bug Finders: 4th week of the month. Hunt for plastic bugs in the Great Outdoors exhibit, meet some live insects and get ideas for collecting bugs at home.

Each week that a theme is repeated, a new activity or two will be added and the most popular activities from the month before will be repeated.

Detailed Activity Schedule

June:
Saturday, June 21 Fossil Hunters
Wednesday, June 25 Bug Finders
Saturday, June 28 Bug Finders

July:
Wednesday, July 2 Rock Hounds
Saturday, July 5 Rock Hounds
Wednesday, July 9 Pond Dippers
Saturday, July 12 Pond Dippers
Wednesday, July 16 Fossil Hunters
Saturday, July 19 Fossil Hunters
Wednesday, July 23 Bug Finders
Saturday, July 26 Bug Finders

August:
Wednesday, August 6 Rock Hounds
Saturday, August 9 Rock Hounds
Wednesday, August 13 Pond Dippers
Saturday, August 16 Pond Dippers
Wednesday, August 20 Fossil Hunters
Saturday, August 23 Fossil Hunters
Wednesday, August 27 Bug Finders
Saturday, August 30 Bug Finders

There will be no programs on July 30 or August 1.

For more information, visit the Summer Nature and Science Activities web site at www.saltthesandbox.org/wonderworks/